June 25-27, 2021

2nd Annual

Ouray International Film Festival
Join award-winning actor Terry Kiser (Rachel, Rachel, Weekend at Bernie’s) and the rest of the festival team for a weekend of jury-selected film screenings, conversations among filmmakers and scholars, parties, and awards. All in a mountain town that has been consistently ranked a top getaway destination in the world.

2021 Festival Winners

  • Director's Spotlight Award:
    Ethan Payne
  • Director's Spotlight Award:
    B. Brian Foster
  • Film in Action Award: Tiffany Hsiung
  • Best Picture: Fire in the Mountains
  • Best Director: Farbod Ardebili
  • Audience Favorite: High Country
  • Best Actor: Usé - To the Bone
  • Best Actress: Elaheh Afshari - Exam
  • Best Cinematography: So What if the Goats Die?
  • Best Editing: Women Is Losers
  • Lifetime Achievement Award:
    James V Hart

The One Hundred Campaign: 100 sponsors to donate 100 dollars to our festival.

The Ouray International Film Festival (OIFF) exists to enrich the cultural life of Ouray County by bringing the best films from across the world to the Wright Opera House. During this difficult year, we are asking for 100 sponsors to donate 100 dollars to our festival.

As a Wright Opera House annual event, our festival brings independent films in all genres from dozens of countries to Ouray County. This year’s fest will be held from June 25-27. Our Executive Team includes actor Terry Kiser and Nashville-based filmmakers Jared LaCroix and Jake Abell (Ouray High School graduate). We work with an amazing team of interns from CU Boulder’s film program to build a weekend of incredible films and discussions that celebrate the best in global cinema right here in Ouray.

How can I or my business get involved? 
Like our parent organization, the Wright Opera House, our festival revenue was hit hard by the pandemic. We need help from community partners to continue developing our second annual event. During this difficult year, we could use your help.

We are looking for 100 businesses and individuals to donate 100 dollars to support our budget for the 2021 film festival.

What would my contribution support? 
Our budget prioritizes the things that matter most: giving financial support to our incredible team of interns, hospitality for invited filmmakers, and creating events like last year’s socially-distant opening night gala where audiences have the opportunity to get to know our visiting artists.

How would I or my business benefit from supporting the film festival? 
• As one of our festival sponsors, your name will appear on our festival website and our print program during the festival. 
• You help us to give back to the community. We’re developing education initiatives for students, we bring guest filmmakers to Ouray to enrich our local artistic culture throughout the festival, and our work contributes to the local tourist economy.  
• Your contribution will help to maintain and grow a cultural institution that will enrich Ouray County for years to come. We’re here to stay!

I’m interested in being a festival sponsor, but I have more questions. Can I contact someone? 
You can reach out to us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. with any questions about your contribution, what it would support, or anything else about the festival.


Winners were determined by a jury consisting of the festival’s Executive Team and a group of invited participants. The awards were crafted by Colorado-based artisan Lisa Issenberg at Kiitellä.

  • Director’s Spotlight: Michiel Thomas

  • Film in Action: SJ Murray

  • Excellence in International Filmmaking: The Steed
  • Audience Favorite: That’s Wild / The Steed

  • Best Animated Film: The Quiet
  • Best Actor: Gregory Bordelon in Voicemail
  • Best Actress: Svetlana Alekseevna Barandich in Anna
  • Best Cinematography: Red Fish. Sockeye Salmon
  • Best Editing: Lou

Donate to The One Hundred Campaign today!

Just write “OIFF 100 Sponsor” in the notes section to become an official festival sponsor.

Thank you to our 100 Campaign Donors:

  • Chuck & Mary Anderson

  • Elizabeth Clarke

  • Silas Clarke and Sarah Gray
  • Elevation Weddings and Events

  • Amy $ Brian Exstrum

  • Stuart Gillespie

  • Heather & Alan Greisz

  • Cynthia Harper
  • Ron and Catherine Haselnus
  • Nancy and Mike Hockersmith
  • Kate, Derek & Nina Jones

  • The Kissingford Family
  • Jan Lewis Artist LLC
  • Tod Lokey
  • Russell McCrady
  • Kevin McNeil
  • Khristopher’s Culinaire
  • Barbara and Larry Meckel
  • Dottie Miller

  • Jane Nash

  • Nancy and John Nixon
  • David Nunn
  • Ouray Performing Arts Guild

  • Atlee and Rick Pope
  • Dan and Alyssa Preston
  • The Stevens Price Family
  • Stephen & Marty Sears

  • Lisa Sheppard

  • Barry Stevenson
  • Pam and Ken Stofferahn
  • Frances Tisdel
  • April and Michael Underwood
  • Eliza Wister

The Wright Opera House is a 501c3 nonprofit, operating a historic venue and premier performing arts organization located in the City of Ouray. It is supported by event fees and by generous donations. Click here to make a tax deductible donation to the Wright.

We're working hard to make the Wright Opera House an open and welcoming venue to organizations throughout Colorado. We're also trying to restore a facility that is over 126 years old. Needless to say, we have our work cut out for us! If you have some praise for what we've done already or some feedback on what we could do better, please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Member of the Ridgway Area Chamber of Commerce and the Ouray Chamber Resort Association
472 Main Street (Mailing address: PO Box 17), Ouray, CO 81427 | 970.325.4399 phone
Copyright The Wright Opera House | Built with HTML5 and CSS3

Designed, hosted and managed by PMC